Punch, Hug, or Feel Sorry For? – dobbytheliv

Hey guys, I just wanted to share a short blog post my best friend wrote – twice now she has included me in her blog posts and explaining how angry she is about my sexual assault. I just wanted to share it with you guys because it took a really long time for me to find people who supported me. So hey, check out her blog, and just read what made me bawl.

I see one of my best and closest friends, her harasser/ass[a]ulter, and the school we both attend.  I want to punch the person that hurt her, that tried to touch her without her consent, because people like that are the lowest form of low, because people like that care for no one but themselves. I want to punch him because he got off with no punishment whatsoever, from both the local law enforcement and the college themselves.  I want to hug my friend, because I want to shield her from the backlash that came from her reporting him, the fear that overtook her so much that she was frightened to leave her dorm room in case she would see him. I want to hug her because she is thinking of transferring out of the college because she does not want to see his face again.  And honestly, I feel sorry for our school, because they seem to be so interested in saving face and self preservation that they will cover up something so obvious as sexual assault. Because apparently when someone tries to touch another person, and that person says no, but is touched anyway, that is not assault, but a misunderstanding.

Source: Punch, Hug, or Feel Sorry For? – dobbytheliv

 

Guys, maybe this seems like nothing to you – but to survivors? Stuff like this is so damn important. The first time she wrote about me it was maybe a sentence and still I bawled.Someone cared. Someone believed me. Someone loves me. It’s not my fault. I’m not alone. 

If you’re a survivor, there’s people out there who will love and care for you. Find them. If you ever need someone, let me know. Friends of survivors, let them know you support them. I can’t even begin to explain how much “I love and support you” means to a survivor.

-Bethany

Leave a Reply

