Here’s to My Sun and The Girl Who Tried To Cover it Over

 

Do I miss missing you?

I missed you

I missed you until I realised

you considered me the hurricane

and I missed you until

I realised you

eclipsed my sun

so the darkness could perennially hold me

and I missed you until today

until I realised I deserve better

than moody days and teary nights

I missed you when I knew

you thought the worst of me,

but now we have bad blood

all over our hands

and the wound has festered

and I realised you were the salt

all the pain was because of you.

It wasn’t healed by you because you don’t even know

how to heal yourself.

I missed you then,

but how can I now,

knowing that?

Jo

So this is a poem written by a girl about my best friend Serah, because she decided Serah was “too depressed” to be friends with. She went on rants and raves about how Serah was a manipulative selfish person, when Serah sent this girl $200 to help pay her rent and was always, always there for her no matter what. She refused to take her poem down, even though I asked her very kindly, and instead of answering me, she decided to go on a rant about how people should just not read it if they don’t like it. However I find it to be slander. So here’s my response.

Here’s to My Sun and The Girl Who Tried To Cover it Over

Here’s for you
because you deserve more
You deserve more
than to be left
You deserve more
than to be blamed
for what you can’t control
You are kind
and so selfless
Lioness roaring
so strong and beautiful
The girl who taught me
I was beautiful and deserving
Who stepped in
and became my mother
Protective and loyal
how you do it
I can’t fathom
You have been to hell
and back
Nothing has broken you
when many would have fallen
long before now
Here’s for you
the girl made of love
So here’s my response
my reply
About the girl who gives it all
to the girl who gave her nothing
but hurt and pain
The girl who became
the bully on the playground
Pushing those they liked around
because they can’t handle
what they feel
Who was truly toxic
not the other way
Who was too selfish
to be there for those in need
And blamed everyone
but themselves

So here’s to the two
friends once but no more
To the two on opposite sides
one compassionate
The other unable
to feel the empathy
like a friend
Here’s to the two
the wrong and the right
The green toxin
and physical representation of love

Bethany

Leave a Reply

