A Letter To Luke: My Brother Who Has Heart of Gold and is My Greatest Treasure

Dear Luke,

I wish I could find a way to tell you everything I’ve been thinking about you recently. I’ve tried, but the words just don’t come. Luke, you are ten years old, and you haven’t had an easy life. Yet you have a heart so kind I cannot even fathom. 

You have no idea how protective I am of you. Yeah, sometimes I find you annoying. But never is anyone ever allowed to call you that. No one is ever allowed to insult you. You know why? Because they could never amount to be half as good as you. 

Luke, one day you will make someone a perfect husband. You already are a perfect brother. We fight, we argue, but I hope you know how much I brag about my littl red headed leprechaun. Do you know I love and adore you?

I know how big your heart is. You care for creatures and people. You cry when you see I’m hurt. You feel others pain. You try to be as kind and as excepting as possible to everyone. You get bullied every day at school, yet you are still so kind. Do you know the strength it takes? 

I love everything about you. I love your smile that you’re so shy of. I love how you don’t boast or brag. I love how you adore to cuddle and help. I love how I’ll walk out of my room and you will call me beautiful. I love how you enjoy talking to random people. I love how you are not ashamed of who you are. I love how intelligent you are. I love how you are a peacemaker. I love how you are selfless. I love how you make sure everyone else is happy. I love how you love God.

You’ve had a tough life, I know that. But honey, that’s made you so special. I miss you everyday at college. Maybe you wonder why I get so worked up about someone insulting you. It’s because I never want your beautiful light to dim. You are so happy and cheerful; you look for the best. I never want you to hate yourself or become depressed. You give me hope. You have no idea how much your very being comforts me. Sometimes when I’m sad, I find myself wanting to cuddle you. You hold me and love me. Shouldn’t it be the other way around?

God will do amazing things with you Luke. 

I love you with all my heart,

Bethany

Leave a Reply

