Pretty Faces

Pretty Faces

Pretty faces passing by
Staring at me as I look down
I’m ashamed of who and what I am
Everything I’ve become

The voices in my head scream
They won’t stop shouting
Worthless, disgusting, terrible
Their voices pounding

I don’t want to believe them
I don’t want it to be true
But I know it is
I know that’s who I am

On the bathroom floor
Shaking and shuddering
I’m gasping for air
How have I become this person?

I envy them
Those with the pretty faces
They can look up without a care
Unashamed with their being

Bethany

Leave a Reply

