Hubris: Maybe It’s Not Just Greek Mythology

“Hubris means deadly pride, Percy. Thinking you can do things better than anyone else…even the gods.”

I learned a new word today while reading Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters: hubris. 

Hubris (hu·bris)
1. Pride or arrogance
2. (In Greek tragedy) an excess of ambition, pride, etc, ultimately causing the transgressor’s ruin.

I like this word, but I also hate it. The reason that I have mixed feelings for this word is because it’s a fantastic word to use, but… It fits me perfectly. I do believe that I can do things better than anyone else.

I’m never satisfied with letting other people do my work or something that I could do. That in itself is a blessing and curse. On one hand it means I’m diligent and not lazy; I don’t like to freeload. However, it also means I’m extremely arrogant. I can’t let anyone else do something, because deep down I believe that only know the right way to do it.

The word hubris is usually used in reference to the heroes and heroines in Greek mythology. Hubris was their mortal flaw that usually lead to their demise. Honestly, that’s the only time I’ve ever heard the word hubris. Maybe I’m missing out on people using such fantastic words, or maybe it really isn’t well known and people just use it for mythology.

Either way, it shouldn’t just be used for mythology because it’s a perfect word. Maybe hubris is my mortal flaw. One of them at least.

Really though, there are so many amazing words that people should start to use more often. Hubris, dastardly, fetching, befuddle, supercilious, winsome, harry, or copious are just a few examples. There are so many fantastic words to use.

Bethany

Leave a Reply

