Why Isn’t Something Done?

Bullying.

That’s my topic right now, bullying. Bullying and why nothing is done about it. Sure, people talk about doing something about it, but rarely is something ever truly done about it.

Bullying is a serious issue that should not be overlooked. One in four students are bullied in school on a regular basis. Not just once in their life, but on a regular basis. This means they are getting constant abuse. Bullying can lead to anxiety, depression, self-harm, and even suicide.  Sometimes it is also the cause of grades dropping. Some kids are terrified of going to school or any social events.

Bullying comes in all shapes and forms. 

The sad part is that only 15 percent of the bullying cases, no action is taken against it, no prevention is used to try and stop it.  Read that number again. 15 percent. That means that 85 percent of the people who are getting bullied, don’t have anyone defending them.

A lot of schools say they are anti-bullying. If that’s so, why are there so many kids getting bullied? There’s such a lack of intervention and it’s disgusting. 

Do you know how many times I’ve heard that “kids will be kids” or that “I didn’t see it so I can’t do anything about it.”

There’s a girl in my school who has been going out of her way to make my life miserable. She will talk about me behind my back, spread every secret she has about me (which is a lot,) call me names, personally try to kill my self-esteem, make fun of how I look, and shun me from groups.  I talked to her about it and tried to resolve it, but that didn’t work. So I talked to my mom, who in turn brought it up with the school’s superintendent.

The superintendent said that several other mothers had come to her with issues about the same girl.  Apparently she had been bullying a lot of girls too. I don’t know these other girls seeing as how I’m new to the school, so it’s not like we all went to her to get her in trouble as a sneaky plan. The superintendent’s response to my mom’s concerns? “I’ll keep an eye on it.”

I don’t think that was the right way to handle the situation. Even a word could help the situation. Telling the bully that they need to back off could help so much. That could be the solution in some situations.

Still, nothing is done. Nothing is done when my twelve year old brother is being bullied. He’s the smartest, most creative, and most inventive kid I know. Still he’s bullied. Nothing is done with my nine year old brother is being bullied by kids. He’s the kindest, most compassionate kid I know. Why is nothing done? They come home crying from school. Isn’t it supposed to be “safe?”

Even when its the teacher being bullied, nothing is done. In my last post I talked about how some girls in my class were making fun of my substitute teacher. That is bullying. It was obviously one of the substitutes first times teaching, and the girls made it horrible for her. She was almost in tears when she sat down at her desk. Nothing was done about these girls. Not by their peers, not even by the substitute who has the authority to do something. I didn’t do anything and honestly that kills me. Am I really that weak?

I’ve been bullied constantly throughout my life. Every town I’ve lived in, I’ve been bullied. I usually got bullied verbally, sometimes physically, but it would especially come from over the internet or texts.

Gotta love social media..right?

One of my favorite things is that its so much easier for people to say horrible and mean things. (That was sarcasm in case you didn’t catch that.)

People who don’t even know you can say that you’re fat, ugly, annoying, stupid, awkward, or weird. Even better, its easier for people to gang up on someone.

There’s subtweets and facebook fights. There’s cruel status’ and texts. Once something is said you can’t take it back. Once it’s been shared its out there.  Sure you might be able to delete someone before someone sees it, but that’s actually hard to do.  Someone is bound to see it, and someone is definitely bound to be hurt by it.

These things hurt people. Some people may be able to brush it off, but others, it consumes their minds, their lives, and their happiness. KIDS kill themselves because of bullying. My brother, when he was maybe nine or ten wanted to die because of the things that were being said about him. He wasn’t even in high school yet. When I was twelve I started cutting. Some people found out and made fun of me for it.

If someone is hurting or self-conscious about something, why is it okay to be cruel to them? Why is it okay to break people until they’re nothing? Why does there have to be so many fake smiles and hidden scars?

Why why why is nothing done?

Bethany

 

Leave a Reply

