I Want to be Passionate

I want to be fiery. I want to be passionate. I want to defend people. I WILL defend people. I don’t care if you hate me for it. I don’t care if you think there’s a better way to be going about it. It doesn’t work. I will call you and anyone else out on being cruel to someone. I will yell at you. I don’t care. Making fun of someone? That’s not okay. Hurting someone because you can? That’s not okay. I don’t care who you are. I will stand up to you.

I’m done. 

The other day in class we had a substitute teacher. I’m a senior in high school and this class was with a bunch of 9th graders. Usually they’re rowdy and don’t pay attention, I get that. I don’t like it, but I get it. However, they weren’t just rowdy. They weren’t just not paying attention. They were being rude, cruel, and disrespectful. 

They made jokes about her looks. Apparently she had a mustache, so they called her out on it. She warned them multiple times that if they didn’t respect her, she wouldn’t teach them. They never quit. By the time she sat down at the desk she was almost in tears. It was obvious that this was one of her first times teaching. She told us that anyone who wanted to learn could come over and she would teach them, so I went over to her and tried to comfort her. This got me nasty looks from people.

Now hold up a second. Seriously, just because I’m not following in your footsteps that means I should get glared at and be the butt of your jokes? Alrighty then.

I regretted not saying anything while they were making fun of her. I was too scared to that day. The next day though? They hadn’t done their homework and told our teacher that the substitute refused to teach us.

That was it. That was the last straw. I yelled at them. 

“No, she tried to teach us, YOU didn’t let her teach us. She warned you multiple times that if you kept it up, she wasn’t going to bother teaching to people who obviously didn’t want to listen anyways.”

This got me a lot of nasty looks, but I felt good. I don’t want to be the girl who just lets things happen to people around her and never stand up for them. I want to be fiery. I want to be passionate. I want the truth out there. I don’t care who you are.. You can’t tell a lie that will hurt someone and expect me to be okay with it.

I don’t care if I get those nasty looks anymore. Because for one moment, maybe, just maybe, I’m doing something right. 

Now my question is: why isn’t something done about this?

Bethany

Leave a Reply

